Hermosa Beach Workplace Accident Lawyer

Did you sustain an injury while at work in Hermosa Beach, CA? You may have legal options, such as filing a workers’ compensation claim or personal injury lawsuit. The Simon Law Group can help you evaluate and follow through with your best course of action.

We’re a top-rated personal injury law firm with a track record of success you can depend on. Our Hermosa Beach workplace accident lawyers have more than 250 years of combined experience and have obtained over $600 million for our clients. We’ll fight from the beginning to secure a favorable outcome for your case.

Contact our law offices today by giving us a call at (424) 722-3209 or getting in touch online. We offer a free initial consultation. 

How The Simon Law Group Can Help After a Workplace Accident in Hermosa Beach

How The Simon Law Group Can Help After a Workplace Accident in Hermosa Beach

Getting hurt on the job presents unique challenges and consequences. You’re likely entitled to workers’ compensation benefits, but the claims process is often anything but straightforward. 

You may also be eligible to file a lawsuit to recover damages, including those that workers’ comp doesn’t compensate for – such as your pain and suffering

The Simon Law Group can help you explore every possible legal avenue, aiming to obtain the maximum compensation possible. Our award-winning Hermosa Beach personal injury attorneys are routinely recognized for their legal services, including recognition from Super Lawyers every single year since 2013. We’re a family-run organization that will treat you like one of our own if you choose us to represent you.

We can help with your workplace accident case by:

Reach out to our law offices serving Hermosa Beach, CA, if you’d like to learn more. Your initial consultation is free of charge, and there are no obligations. 

California Workplace Accident Statistics

The State of California’s Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) releases annual statistics regarding workplace accidents. The latest full year from which data are available from the DIR is 2022. 

That year, there were roughly 565,900 recordable cases involving nonfatal workplace injuries or illnesses in the state. Of that total, around 276,100 caused the employee to miss time from work. These statistics reflect all industries, including local and state governments.

Unfortunately, not everyone who suffers a workplace injury in California survives. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), there were 462 fatal work injuries in the state in 2021.

The facts and circumstances surrounding your workplace accident and injuries will ultimately dictate your options. Generally speaking, the two primary options are to file a workers’ compensation claim with your employer or file a personal injury lawsuit.

Workers’ Compensation

California law requires that most employers carry workers’ compensation insurance, even if they have just one employee. As a result, you can most likely file a claim against this insurance policy after a workplace accident. You can also do so regardless of whose fault the accident was in most cases.

Workers’ compensation can provide you with five specific benefits:

The exact benefit(s) you are able to receive will depend on the severity of your injuries, among other factors.

Personal Injury Lawsuit

One drawback of the workers’ compensation system is that, by default, you cannot file a lawsuit against your employer after an accident. There are exceptions, but only in rare circumstances. 

However, you might have the ability to file a personal injury lawsuit against a liable third party. For example, if you were injured in a car accident during the course of your employment, you may be able to take legal action against the at-fault driver. 

A successful personal injury lawsuit can provide you with much more compensation than a workers’ comp claim, including both your economic and non-economic damages, so it’s critical that you understand the options available in your case. To that end, we can review your situation and offer preliminary legal advice during your free consultation. 

How Valuable Is My Hermosa Beach Workplace Accident Case?

Each workplace accident case in Hermosa Beach has a unique value. Some of the factors that can influence the amount include:

Our legal team works hard to secure as much compensation for our clients as possible. When you hire us, we’ll undertake an in-depth evaluation of your case to calculate all of your damages. 

We’ll Fight To Secure Compensation for All of Your Workplace Accident Injuries

Some injuries sustained on the job are more serious than others, but they all have the potential to negatively affect your life going forward. Our attorneys are prepared to help you take legal action after sustaining any of the following:

Even if your specific injuries aren’t listed here, we’re qualified to assist. Contact our workplace accident lawyers in Hermosa Beach today for a free case assessment.

What if I’m Being Blamed for My Accident in Hermosa Beach, CA?

In many cases, you can still recover compensation even if you share some of the blame for your workplace accident in Hermosa Beach, California. Workers’ comp is generally a no-fault system, and you can receive benefits even if the accident was your fault (though there are exceptions, such as if you intentionally caused your injuries). 

If you can file a personal injury lawsuit against a third party, California’s “pure comparative negligence” standard may apply. Under this doctrine, you may be assessed a percentage of fault for your accident – and your damages can be adjusted accordingly. For example, sharing 40% of the blame can reduce your damages by 40%.

An experienced personal injury attorney can respond to allegations of blame on your behalf, working to ensure you recover the full amount of compensation available.  

What Causes Workplace Accidents in Hermosa Beach, CA?

There are countless ways to get hurt on the job, though some are more prevalent than others. Some of the most common causes of Hermosa Beach workplace accidents include:

Get in touch with our legal team today to learn about your rights and options after a workplace injury.  

How Much Time Do I Have To File a Claim After a Workplace Accident in California?

To receive workers’ compensation benefits in Hermosa Beach, you must notify your employer within 30 days of the accident. Regarding any potential personal injury lawsuits, the State of California’s statute of limitations gives you two years from the date of your accident to file your case in court.

These are critical time limits, as you could lose your right to money damages if you take legal action too late. Note that there are exceptions to these deadlines, but only in rare cases. It’s best to contact our law offices as soon as you can to maintain your legal interests. 

Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Experienced Hermosa Beach Workplace Accident Attorneys

If you’ve been injured on the job in Hermosa Beach, CA, you may be entitled to benefits. Workers’ compensation is a likely option, but you may also have the ability to file a lawsuit for additional damages. 

The Simon Law Group can provide you with comprehensive legal services throughout your case while you focus on your health and well-being. With $600 million collected and over 250 years of experience in total, our Hermosa Beach workplace accident lawyers have a history of favorable outcomes that is virtually unmatched.

We also work on a contingency fee basis, which means we only receive attorney’s fees if we obtain compensation for you. Call or contact us online today to set up a free consultation and learn more.