Torrance Slip and Fall Accident Lawyer

Did you or a family member slip and fall on someone else’s property in Torrance, CA? A negligent property owner may owe you financial compensation if you were injured. An experienced Torrance slip and fall accident lawyer at The Simon Law Group can help you prove you deserve compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and your pain and suffering. 

Collectively, we have over 250 years of experience in personal injury law. Over the years, our lawyers have won over $600 million in settlements and verdicts in tough personal injury cases like yours.

Slip and fall cases can be difficult to prove. If you were injured in a slip and fall, call our law offices in Torrance, California, at (424) 622-0812 to schedule a free consultation with a lawyer who can fight for you.

Why Call The Simon Law Group for Help After a Slip and Fall Accident in Torrance?

Why Call The Simon Law Group for Help After a Slip and Fall Accident in Torrance?

Most slip and fall claims are resolved by filing a claim with insurance. While you probably won’t go to court, you shouldn’t expect the insurance company to play fair. They’re counting on the fact that you probably don’t handle personal injury claims on a regular basis.

Even when you’re in the right, that means they might try to blame you, lowball you, and scare you into backing down.

Our experienced Torrance personal injury attorneys at The Simon Law Group know how to help you fight back. With our experience and legal knowledge, we can force the insurance companies to take your case seriously.

We’ll work for you by:

Our Torrance personal injury lawyers take a client-centered approach. We’ll develop a custom-tailored legal strategy that meets your needs. To learn more about our skills and experience, call for a free consultation today.

According to the National Safety Council (NSC), falls are one of the top three causes of injury-related death in the U.S. Fall injuries also account for 33% of all non-fatal injuries that are treated in emergency rooms each year.

In 2021, more than 6.9 million Americans visited emergency rooms with fall-related injuries. Overall, 44,686 people died due to slips, trips, and falls that year.

Overview of California Laws on Slip and Fall Accidents

When property owners invite others onto their property, they take on certain responsibilities. California premises liability laws require owners to maintain their premises in reasonably safe condition. So, when you walk out the front door, you shouldn’t have to constantly worry about getting hurt.

All property owners in California are subject to premises liability laws. 

For example, you may have a valid slip and fall accident claim if you were injured while visiting:

If you have questions about your legal rights after a slip and fall, call our Torrance slip and fall accident attorneys today. Evidence in these cases tends to disappear quickly–because property owners will be quick to fix any hazards after someone gets hurt.

What Is My Torrance Slip and Fall Accident Case Worth?

Before taking legal action, most injury victims want to know how much compensation they might recover.

Your case value will depend on various factors, including:

Because all cases are different, it’s best to consult a premises liability attorney in Torrance before you take an insurance settlement offer. With quality legal representation, you’re much more likely to recover the full compensation you deserve.

What Kinds of Damages Are Available to Slip and Fall Accident Victims in Torrance?

Slip and fall victims in Torrance can seek compensation for economic damages and non-economic damages like any car accident victim. The money you receive will be based on the losses you have suffered.

Examples include:

If you have questions about your damages after a slip and fall, our Torrance slip and fall lawyers are here to help. Contact us today to get started building your case.

How Much Does It Cost To Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer to Handle My Slip and Fall Case?

Like most lawyers in Los Angeles and Torrance, you can hire The Simon Law Group on a contingency fee basis. Our slip and fall attorneys don’t charge upfront fees. We take our attorney’s fees out of the compensation we recover in your case.

With this system, we only get paid if you do. Contact our legal team for a free case review today to learn more about how the contingency fee arrangement works.

Can I Recover Compensation if I’m Being Blamed for Causing a Slip and Fall Accident in California?

Yes. California follows a victim-friendly pure comparative negligence law. 

When you share some blame for an accident, your compensation is reduced by your percentage of fault. So, if you were 20% liable, you can still receive 80% of your compensation. 

You won’t lose your right to compensation entirely unless you were 100% responsible for your own injuries. Our attorneys will work hard to respond to these allegations on your behalf so that you can recover the full value of your claim.

Slips, Trips, and Falls Often Leave Victims Struggling With Painful and Life-Changing Injuries

Don’t underestimate the injuries that slips and falls can cause. Many victims suffer from chronic pain and physical limitations for months or even years.

At The Simon Law Group, we often handle slip and fall accident cases involving:

Depending on the victim and the severity of the fall, slips and falls also have the potential to cause paralysis and other catastrophic injuries. They can also be fatal. If you lost a loved one due to dangerous conditions on someone else’s property, contact our personal injury law firm in Torrance today.

What Causes Most Slip and Fall Accidents in Torrance, California?

Some of the most common causes of slip and fall accidents in California include:

Our team can help you pinpoint the exact cause of your accident.

How Do I Establish My Right to Compensation After a Slip and Fall Accident in California?

To recover compensation for your injuries, you’ll have to prove that the property owner failed to live up to their responsibilities. In other words, you must prove they were negligent. 

More specifically, you must establish:

The property owner’s duty of care hinges on why you were visiting the property. When you visit a business, you’re classified as an invitee. When you visit property as a social guest, you’re called a licensee.

Businesses are held to the highest standard of care. 

Business owners have a duty to:

To recover damages, you’ll have to prove that:

Injured licensees must generally prove that they were injured due to a non-obvious danger that the owner knew about. Private property owners must warn you when they know about a risk, but they don’t have to search the premises to identify hidden dangers.

How Long Do I Have To File a Personal Injury Lawsuit After a Slip and Fall in California?

There is a two-year statute of limitations in California personal injury cases. If you fail to file a lawsuit for damages before the two-year period is over, you lose your right to damages.

However, there are exceptions that change this time limit for some cases. Get in touch with us as soon as you can to maintain your right to file a claim.

Contact an Experienced Torrance Slip and Fall Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation

Do you have questions about your legal rights after suffering a slip and fall injury? Contact The Simon Law Group today. With an experienced Torrance slip and fall accident lawyer by your side, you greatly increase your chances of recovering every dollar you deserve.