FAQs: Car Accident Reports in California

FAQs Car Accident Reports in California

The moments after a car accident in Hermosa Beach can be overwhelming. The weeks and months ahead will be challenging as you heal from your injuries and pursue a claim against the driver who caused the car crash. During this time, you are likely to have many questions about car accident claims.

Many accident victims have questions about car accident reports in California after a crash. Below are answers to FAQs about car accident reports in California to help you as you prepare to file a personal injury claim for a car accident. 

When Should I Report a Car Accident in Hermosa Beach, CA?

California traffic laws require that you stop your vehicle and remain at the accident scene until you fulfill your legal duties. If no one was injured or killed, move your vehicle off the street and into a safe location. If a person or animal was injured or killed, pull to one side of the road and stop.

Calling 911 is the quickest way to report a car accident in Hermosa Beach. If someone is injured in the accident, California law requires you to report the accident to the police within 24 hours. However, you should call 911 from the accident scene to ensure you comply with other laws. 

In addition to reporting the accident to the police, you are required to report the crash to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if the collision resulted in $1,000 or more in property damage or if someone was injured. It is crucial that you complete all steps to report a car accident in California to avoid fines and penalties.

Why Should I Report a Car Accident That Causes Minor Damage?

Minor car crashes can cause more than $1,000 in damages. Furthermore, someone could sustain an injury that might not be apparent at the accident scene. Therefore, it is better to err on the side of caution and report the crash than to be accused of disobeying the law.

Furthermore, having an official report of the car crash can help when you file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit. The record provides key details about the accident and prevents the other driver from trying to say they were not involved in a crash.

Where Do I File a Car Accident Report in California?

If you call 911 from the accident scene, police officers from the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the crash site complete and file the report. However, you must also file a report with the California DMV. You can do that online through the DMV website. 

What Happens if I Fail To Report a Car Accident in California?

You are required by law to report car crashes that result in injury or death. Failing to do so could have legal consequences, such as a suspended driver’s license, fines, and even jail time. Additionally, you may have more difficulty filing an insurance claim to recover compensation for your damages.

Losses in a Hermosa Beach car accident case can include the following economic and non-economic damages:

  • Medical bills and expenses
  • Physical pain and suffering
  • Mental anguish
  • Loss of enjoyment of life
  • Emotional distress
  • Lost wages and benefits
  • Diminished quality of life
  • Out-of-pocket expenses
  • Reduction in earning capacity
  • Disabilities, impairments, scarring, and disfigurement
  • Property damage

Because California is an at-fault state, you must prove the other driver caused the car accident to recover damages. Therefore, you need evidence proving how the car accident happened and who was responsible for the factors contributing to the collision. A car accident report helps obtain evidence that could prove fault and liability.

Where Can I Get a Copy of a Car Accident Report in California?

You can request a copy of a collision report from the California Highway Patrol online. If a local law enforcement agency investigated the crash, you may obtain a copy of the report from their office. 

However, if you hire a personal injury lawyer, your attorney will obtain a copy of the accident report as part of their investigation into your claim. Your attorney will handle all aspects of your personal injury case as well. 

If you have further questions about car accident reports or personal injury claims, you can get answers from an experienced Hermosa car accident attorney during a free consultation.

Contact the Car Accident Lawyers at The Simon Law Group Today

For more information, please contact an experienced car accident lawyer at The Simon Law Group to schedule a free initial consultation today. We have three convenient locations in California, including Torrance, Hermosa Beach, and Santa Ana, CA. We also have offices in Phoenix, AZ, and Austin, TX.

We proudly serve Los Angeles County and Orange County, CA, and its surrounding areas:

The Simon Law Group – Torrance, CA Office
2916 W 164th St Second Floor, Torrance, CA 90504
(424) 622-0812 

The Simon Law Group – Hermosa Beach, CA Office
34 Hermosa Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
(424) 722-3209

The Simon Law Group – Santa Ana, CA Office
1327 N Broadway, Santa Ana, CA 92706
(714) 581-8546